Judson EaglesOfficial Site for the Judson Eagles
Judson News
Basketball - Wed, Mar. 15, 2017
News Photo

ELGIN, Ill. - - - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced Monday that 175 Division II men's basketball student-athletes and 286 Division II women's basketball student-athletes have been named 2016-17 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes. In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.


Taking home the honors as NAIA Scholar-Athletes included four Eagles from both the men's and women's programs. On the men's side, Andrew Eck (SR/Belvidere, IL) and Scott Nelson (SR/Sycamore, IL) were both honored. Eck claimed his third NAIA Scholar-Athlete honor. The women's team was honored also with two selections as Bethany Zornow (JR/Algonquin, IL) and Sarah Matson (SR/Ashton, IL) each received Scholar-Athlete status. This marked Zornow's first honor and Matson's second.